Your Future Begins Here.

Special Education

Alert Box Item Title

Attention Parents!

Please read The Back to School Letter from the State Director of Special Education (PDF) 9-3-2020. 

As required under Chapter 71b of the Massachusetts General Laws and Public Law 94-142, special services are available to students who meet eligibility requirements. A school official, teacher, parent or guardian, court officer, social worker, or family doctor may refer a student to the Wellness Committee. Students may also refer themselves for this support.

A student and/or parent should contact the Special Education Department to obtain further information or make a referral for evaluation. At the completion of the evaluation, the Special Education Team will meet to determine eligibility for special education services. This team may include an administrator, special education person, chairperson, guidance counselor, nurse, psychologist, teacher, parent and student.

In order for all students to achieve our expectations for student learning Tri-County prides itself on providing clear, concise and coordinated opportunities for success. To these ends Tri-County academic course options include full inclusion, co-taught as well as consult model classrooms.

For more information on our programs please make an appointment to speak with the Director of Special Education or plan to attend a SEPAC meeting or one of the various information sessions (calendar to be posted) that are planned and hosted throughout the school year by our Guidance Department.

 

Special Education & Other Student Services Contacts  
     
Robert Bruno Special Education Teacher and Liaison bruno@tri-county.us
Julie Caffrey Special Education Teacher and Liaison caffreyj@tri-county.us
Donna Crawford School Psychologist crawford@tri-county.us
Patricia Flaherty Secretary flaherty@tri-county.us
Caralyn Good Special Education Reading Teacher and Liaison good@tri-county.us
Morgan Gould Paraprofessional gouldm@tri-county.us
Laura Griffin Special Education Teacher and Liaison  griffin@tri-county.us
Jack Howley Paraprofessional howley@tri-county.us
Greg Kanelos   Paraprofessional kanelos@tri-county.us
Carol Kelley Special Education Teacher and Liaison Kelley@tri-county.us
William LaPlant  Special Education Teacher and Liaison laplant@tri-county.us
Michael Martone Special Education Teacher and Liaison martone@tri-county.us
Yannis Mavropoulos    IEP Team Chairperson mavropoulos@tri-county.us
Donna McDonald Special Education Teacher and Liaison McDonald@tri-county.us
Jennifer Mogensen Speech and Language Pathologist mogensen@tri-county.us
Suzanne O’Shea Special Education Teacher and Liaison oshea@tri-county.us
Daniel Parker Special Education Teacher and Liaison parker@tri-county.us
Kevin Pierce Special Education Department Coordinator pierce@tri-county.us
Anthony Puleo Special Education Teacher and Liaison puleo@tri-county.us
Joe Rice Paraprofessional rice@tri-county.us
Collin Spillane Paraprofessional spillanec@tri-county.us
Sarah Vega Special Education Teacher and Liaison vega@tri-county.us

 

Special Education Parent Advisory Councils (SEPACs)

Special Education Parent Advisory Councils (SEPACs) were established by state law in 1972. Language from Section 3 of Chapter 71B of the Massachusetts General Laws reads in part:

“…. The school committee of any city, town, or school district shall establish a parent advisory council on special education. Membership shall be offered to all parents of children with disabilities and other interested parties. The parent advisory council duties shall include but not be limited to: advising the school committee on matters that pertain to the education and safety of students with disabilities; meeting regularly with school officials to participate in the planning, development, and evaluation of the school committee’s special education programs. The parent advisory council shall establish by-laws regarding officers and operational procedures. In the course of its duties under this section, the parent advisory council shall receive assistance from the school committee without charge, upon reasonable notice, and subject to the availability of staff and resources. …”

Key components of operating an effective SEPAC include (but are not limited to):

-Identifying Parties with Common Interests
-Interacting with the Special Education Administrator
-Interacting with the Superintendent and the School Committee
-Interacting with school councils, PTOs and the community at large

Helpful Links

Translate »